Walking the Walk and Talking the Talk

It was Friday morning around 9:30am at Three Crosses (the outreach I work at). A kid by the name of Champ was standing in front of me and I was disciplining him for throwing water on another kid. As he explained his side of the story I kept hearing the same things reiterated “Well he…” and “And She….” and “I was just retaliating”. By this time some kids had gathered around (if you don’t know by now, kids are naturally nosey) and I said to them “I don’t get why you feel like y’all have to retaliate and I don’t get why you have to provoke someone in the first place. You don’t see Sarah (my friend who helps out there as well) and I calling each other names. You don’t see me getting mad when Ashby (another friend who works there) hits me with a ball”. It was interesting the reaction I received afterwards, it was just silence. Now I can’t say that since then everyone has been little angels, I can’t say that five people got saved due to those couple of sentences, but what I can say is that the staff is doing there part. See my words would have fallen on deaf ears had my actions not reflected my words and most certainly one of the kids would have happily stepped right up to call me out on my hypocrisy, but thankfully they weren’t able to.

Words mean nothing if your actions aren’t in check with them. You can quote any Scripture from the Bible that you want to, you can start any Bible study you want to, you can smile as big as you want, but if your life outside of an outreach, church, etc… is different, then somewhere along the line, you’ve missed the point. To be completely honest, one of the things that gets me the most is when people sing about God, read about God, or talk about God, then ten minutes later they’re talking about the person that they hate, the party they’re going to next weekend, or they go on a cynical rant. It contradicts the very thing they were promoting just a little bit ago and it’s not good.

Keep in mind people are ALWAYS watching (not promoting paranoia, you know what I mean). So make sure you’re following the same Christianity that you’re marketing to an unsaved world.

Leave a Reply

