Let’s try this again

was my mindset going into sophomore year  of college. If you follow me on twitter, or you’re my friend on facebook then chances are you’ve seen one or two (ehh perhaps that’s being a little too conservative) not so nice posts about my college. To say my freshman year was a disaster would be an understatement. From a bad college atmosphere, to difficult assignments,  even being called an idiot for “not being realistic” to even life outside of college which included breaking up with a girl that I had literally spent a decade, trying to persuade to go out with me. So with all of that said I really wasn’t in a mood of “Life is awesome!!”. To be honest I had grown very cynical towards the school, I saw it as no more than a joke, I saw it as a place that said “If you have the right image then sweet, and if you don’t then hey at least Jesus still loves you.” I saw it as a place that I didn’t want to be. Was I justified? For a year I believed so, but eventually I realized how wrong I was. Now to be clear I’m not saying my school is perfect, to say that would be very careless and I’d be endorsing a lot of things I don’t agree with, however with that said what I’m saying is my handling of the situation is where I went wrong. Galatians 6:1 says “Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted.” When I look in hindsight that verse stings a lot, for two reasons. First, I was anything but gentle when dealing with the problems I saw. Secondly, it doesn’t matter how hypocritical someone is being in their walk with Christ, the moment I act in an angry spirit to correct them, I’m not pleasing Christ anymore than they are.

Leave a Reply

